as the crone flies

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

This is what I have been doing since my last post.

on February 19, 2015

The plan to make 2015 a more creative year for myself is nicely on track, I have been stitching up a storm and taking classes to update my quilting skills.

I am a self taught quilt maker who has almost always pieced my quilts by hand this year however in keeping with my New Years goal of being more creative I enrolled in a beginning quilt class so I can finally learn the fine art of using a rotary cutter and all those neat grid rulers and the best way to piece a quilt using a sewing machine.

The class began in mid January to run for 6 weeks, with no class on the 13th or 20th of February so class will run into March. I missed the Feb. 6th class so I have time to catch  up. Here is the quilt we are making in class, the rail fence and nine-patch blocks made in the first two

IMG_9181IMG_9206IMG_9430

classes, the class I missed on the 6th we were to make log cabin blocks, I have the strips cut, however the piecing method is foreign to me so I don’t plan to tackle them at home, I have made a log cabin quilt and didn’t use the method required in the book and I don’t want to have to use the seam ripper so I will wait.

In the mean time I have been keeping up with my hand embroidery thanks in part to the class I attended in October to re-awaken those long forgotten stitches and to joining a Facebook group, Joyful Embellishments in January in part to be more creative and to aid in stitching my crazy quilt block from the workshop I attended in early January.

IMG_9202IMG_9216IMG_9548

The completed crazy quilt block and some embroidery stitches variations on the feather stitch and herringbone stitch, other pieces I have been hand embroidering are the Celtic knot pieces and Greenman #1 all stitching is complete.

IMG_9131IMG_9130IMG_9593

Next up for hand embroidery is Greenman #2 which is now traced onto the fabric, waiting for stitching I am going to have the Celtic knots in the corners and currently on the light box some Goddesses to embroider.

IMG_9631IMG_9629IMG_9636

While I am feeling better I am currently back to monitoring my blood pressure daily for the next few weeks, one day I will have this under control, I do need to get back to my daily exercise routine which will help tremendously, though I still tire easily I can take shorter walks until my stamina improves.

 

Leave a Reply

