as the crone flies

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

A Gathering of Witches…

on August 3, 2015

…Patterns that is.

Over the last few weeks I have been gathering a nice collection of Witch patterns for hand embroidery quilt blocks and other quilts with a witch theme. The quilts vary from applique to pieced quilts.

I spent a few days tracing the 12 blocks for the Hocuspocusville Quilt from Crab-apple Hill, it such a sweet pattern of various witch houses and businesses.

IMG_0699

I bought the pattern in 2013 however my hand embroidery at that time was a bit rusty, I hadn’t done any hand embroidery in ages.  But after several class in the Fall of 2014 and this Spring my stitching has improved greatly.

Here is a look at block number one after I finished tracing the hand embroidery pattern onto my fabric.  I had hit a few snags along the way, my first choice fabric was tone on tone and so rough it wore down the tip of my micron pen so I decided to use a plain unbleached muslin, I’m happy.

IMG_1430

Here are some of the quilt patterns using hand embroidery for some of the blocks, a few years ago when I bought the Hocuspocusville pattern I came across the Witches In Stitches Bootique pattern but could not find it anywhere until recently.

IMG_1603

The four patterns above are pieced and applique patterns and don’t use any hand embrodiery, and the two patterns by

IMG_1720

McKenna Ryan above are part of a block of the month series Halloweenies, the blocks are number 3 and 8.  I only wanted the blocks with the Witches.

Let me not forget these little patterns for hand embroidery the first one is a witch and the others are Autumn

IMG_1502

themed which fits in with my plan to make a few new linens for the Autumnal Equinox.

IMG_1726IMG_1727

My peace square is completely stitched and I have mailed it off to the Artists for Peace project you can read about it

IMG_1107

here and if you are interested in participating you stil have time to send in a peace square of your own creation.  The photo shows the sqaure just off the hoop I did press it before I mailed it.  Here is the link for more info:

https://obsesivcreativ.wordpress.com/2015/02/25/all-we-are-saying-call-out-for-blanket-for-peace-textile-squares/ 

Leave a Reply

