as the crone flies

Smile! You’re at the best WordPress.com site ever

September so Far

on September 7, 2016

The last day of August went out with wonderful surprise in the guise of a beautiful spotted hawk that was roosting on my roof it looked very close to the photo below, unfortunately by the time I ran inside and had my camera in hand I was just about to snap his picture when he flew away.

hawk

September rolled in with lots of gray skies, heavy rain and a tropical storm becoming the first hurricane to make landfall on Florida in eleven years. In Ocala we were lucky to just get the rain and wind with a few small bunches of mistletoe on the ground fallen from the oak tree in the front of my house.

The official end of summer came with the celebration of Labor Day, and here in Florida the summer weather lingers well into October though September brings a subtle change in the weather while it is still hot and humid most days, the temps are noticeably lower in the evenings and the mornings too, the days continually grow shorter and before we know it autumn will arrive. My internal clock knows that autumn is coming so I dream of colorful leaves, crisp cool air and sweater weather days that never seem to come. 

joyy

Last week I picked up a two books that were waiting for me at the library I started the mystery last night. I finished the book by Teri DuLong and enjoyed it so much I can’t wait to pick up the next book in her new series.

img_5219img_5281the-secret-history-of-wonder-woman

I am making progress on block number nine of Hocuspocusville Quilt though I am taking a break today from stitching because my fingertip on my right index finger is sore from pulling the needle through its time to change out the needles I’ve been using. Now with the weather getting cooler I can start to bring out the yarn and larger quilt projects.

img_5231img_5286

Leave a Reply

